Welcome to Advice from a Caterpillar!

Posted on October 15, 2007

0


For 5 years, as Managing Editor of Writing World.com, I wrote a column for children’s writers, Advice from a Caterpillar. This blog features updated and edited versions of the old Advice from a Caterpillar. Every now and then I’ll throw in an author interview or a book review. Like today, I’m posting a book review for Tutu Deadly by Natalie M. Roberts. Check it out!

Advice from a Caterpillar was inspired by Chapter 5 – coincidentally titled Advice from a Caterpillar – in Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. When I was a kid I loved the book. When I re-read it as an adult, Alice’s experiences in Wonderland reminded me of the book publishing world. I wondered if the Caterpillar represented Lewis Carroll himself, and that led to thinking about the whole absurdity of a writer trying to give advice to another writer. I mean, much like Alice and the Caterpillar, none of us really understands the publishing industry. We just stumble our way through it, and hope for the best. And we meet up with some pretty strange characters and terribly confusing information along the way.

I would never presume to actually know the answers to writers’ questions. However I have discovered that I’m pretty good at finding the answers to the questions. You may submit your questions to me through the comments section of this blog.

If I’m feeling up to it, I might answer them.

Click here to add Advice from a Caterpillar to your RSS reader.

