How should I identify myself as a SCBWI member?

Posted on December 17, 2007

0


I am a member of SCBWI. Sometimes in the Publisher’s Corner section of their Bulletin, editors say they will only accept manuscripts from SCBWI members. Does that mean I should write something like “SCBWI member” on the envelope? Or should I mention it in the cover letter? I read so often that editors want short cover letters.

Do mention it in the cover letter. Don’t write it on the envelope.

In large publishing houses the mail is opened in the mail room, so editors don’t always see the envelopes. I always send a one sheet resume of my publishing credits. The first line says: “Peggy Tibbetts has been a member of SCBWI since 1977.” If you don’t send publishing credits on a separate sheet, then in your cover letter be sure to say, “I am a member of SCBWI”. It doesn’t take up much space but it’s just as important as a publishing credit. For more information about membership benefits, go to the Membership Benefits page at the SCBWI web site.

Click here to add Advice from a Caterpillar to your RSS reader.

