Nelligan Prize open to all writers

Posted on January 30, 2012


The Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction was established in 2004 in memory of Liza Nelligan, a writer, editor, and friend of many in Colorado State University’s English Department, where she received her master’s degree in literature in 1992. By giving an award to the author of an outstanding short story each year, CSU honors Nelligan’s life, her passion for writing, and her love of fiction. The Nelligan Prize is offered annually. This year’s final judge is Jane Hamilton; friends and students (current & former) of the judge are not eligible to compete, nor are Colorado State University employees, students, or alumni.

Open to: All writers

Genre:  Short story

Length:  50 pages or less

Grand Prize:  $2,000 and publication in the fall/winter 2012 issue of Colorado Review

Entry fee: $17 online; $15 by mail

Deadline: March 10, 2012

How to submit:  Submit online here.
Or by mail to:
Nelligan Prize – Colorado Review
9105 Campus Delivery
Department of English
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-9105

For more info: Nelligan Prize 2012 Submission Guidelines

Click here to add Advice from a Caterpillar to your RSS reader.

Posted in: contest