Guest post: It’s a Southern Thing

Posted on August 29, 2012

1


Guest post by Jilda Leigh

It never actually occurred to me to become a published author. I had dreamt of being a writer my whole life, but actually becoming one – no way! I would journal, writing on any type of paper product I could get my hands on – napkins, notebook paper, etc. I struggle with several illnesses and that’s what actually led me to the first book.

I began journaling, which in turn led to a first book. Once the manuscript flew from my fingers to the keyboard, I felt relief. The more I wrote, the better I felt. I was releasing feelings and emotions that I had trapped inside an emotional suitcase. Therefore, the writing became the catalyst for unleashing the burdens. And, the book was born.

I first self-published it as an eBook, Shadows, Skeletons and a Southern Belle, through a great company called BookTango online. Once that was completed, I felt empty. And, that puzzled me. A writer without written words. Who would have ever thought it? So, I sought out a print-on-demand company and re-released it as a print-on-demand book. The author’s copy arrived in the mail and I was ecstatic. I was holding my words in my hands! I jumped in my car and tore off to show it to my family members.

Five books later, and I am still writing. Mostly children’s books now, but I have published another autobiography. When my emotions seem to fill up, I write another autobiography. With resources available to help other people, I feel I need to speak out and share my experiences in the hopes (and prayers) that someone else will be spared the agonies I have faced.

Then, the books led to blogs. Nowadays, you can find me on my blog, Flip Flops & Pearls, as well as churning out more works of literature. I think I’ve found my niche in life!

************************

Jilda Leigh has lived her entire life in a small community called Killian, South Carolina, where she still lives with her pit bull baby named Diogie, and her boyfriend. Check out her books in print here.

Find Jilda Leigh here:
Flip Flops & Pearls
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

Click here to add Advice from a Caterpillar to your RSS reader.

Posted in: self-publishing