Review: I’m My Own Dog

Posted on July 8, 2014

0


My own dog cover

I’m My Own Dog
By David Ezra Stein
Candlewick Press
August 2014
32 pages

This little bulldog is so completely on his own he doesn’t even have a name. He doesn’t like to be told what to do. He can throw his own sticks and lick his own face. Being his own dog seems to be working out quite well for him until one day he has an itch he can’t scratch. So he lets a guy scratch his back. Of course the guy follows him home, which by the way is not too shabby. What follows is a fun play on role reversal as the dog trains the guy to do the things he likes to do. Along the way he even learns to put up with the guy’s annoying habits. Stein’s lively ink and watercolor illustrations show the high energy and emotions of one independent little dog with a big heart. I’m My Own Dog is definitely a keeper.

Copyright (c) 2014 by Peggy Tibbetts

Click here to add Advice from a Caterpillar to your RSS reader.

Posted in: book review